Palestine

This might seem a strange page to have on a plant history blog. But the ongoing situation in Palestine touches on exactly the same issues discussed in the posts here - imperialism, colonialism, land rights, war, and the effects of these things on people and nature, including plants.

The situation there today is not something that appeared overnight, but is rather the continuation of decades of Israeli settler colonialism following British rule in Palestine. I am still learning too: we all have to start somewhere. These are sources I have found useful in this effort, and I hope you will too.

Decolonize Palestine, especially their Palestine 101 Articles

Our History of Popular Resistance: Palestine Reading List (Google Doc)

Actionable ways to support the Palestinians of Gaza (via Box)

I’ll keep trying to add what I can, and boost things on my social media pages. But please don’t use this as your end point - use it as a springboard to understand as much as you can about Palestine, its history, and its present from Palestinians themselves.

I will also be trying to learn as much as I can about Palestine’s plants and the ways they tie in to its history and present. Plants matter because they are important to people and as part of places, and that’s no different in present-day Palestine than in pre-Columbian Mexico, ancient China, or anywhere else I might write about. Posts about Palestinian plants will be available via the Palestine tag as and when I can write them.